run like a girl!

We just got back from San Francisco, where I ran the Nike Women’s Half Marathon!

This is a race that I’ve wanted to do for the last three years and finally had the opportunity this year!  What a great course!  Hilly, yes… but the views and the crowd energy made it a pretty great run!

course elevation map! it’s a wonder I didn’t drop dead between miles 6 and 7.5!

course elevation map!  it's a wonder I didn't drop dead between miles 6 and 7.5!

Instead of a finisher’s medal, I received a finisher’s sterling silver necklace designed by Tiffany & Co. and presented to me by a fireman in a tuxedo!  Oh yeah, that was awesome!!!

IMG_4064

I actually made pretty decent time, considering my lack of training and the extra pounds I’m toting.  I don’t usually run for time, but I do have a time-goal for the next one I do (which will be the Half in Virginia that takes place in April).  So I’ll probably go ahead and train for a full and do hills and speed-work and all that stuff that I’m usually too lazy to bother with.  Yaaaay, good times.

What exercise would YOU be willing to do in order to get a Tiffany’s necklace handed to you by a hunky fireman in a tuxedo???

This entry was posted in girl-pow-ah!, I signed up for this!, on the road again., yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

