don't think, run!

I recently received an email from Nike.com to advertise their new adjusting support/stability shoe technology.  The subject line read “Don’t think, run!”.  I was just about to delete the email when I realized what a GREAT mantra that is!

Have you ever talked yourself out of a workout because you let your head go to work on excuses?  I do that all the time… in fact, I almost did it the other day when it was late in the afternoon and I noticed some cold drizzle outside that would make my scheduled run kinda suck.  I started picturing me being cold, wet, my nose running, etc.  And then Nike’s ad popped into my head “don’t think, run!”.  So I stopped thinking about it, pulled on my shoes, stepped out the front door… and just ran.

When you start having those inner-arguments with yourself about working out, give this mantra a try… it can work for anything – not just running.  Don’t think, kickbox.  Don’t think, spin.  Don’t think, step.

Do you have a favorite mantra that you use to push yourself out the door (or into a workout)?

This entry was posted in I gotcher motivation right here.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to don't think, run!

  1. angela says:

    I don’t have one, but I need one. I find myself making excuses a lot. Exercising has moved way down on my priority list but I need to change that.

  2. amanda says:

    how about “I rock the casbah!”?? that would be a good one for you. 🙂

  3. ec says:

    Have you ever talked yourself out of a workout because you let your head go to work on excuses?

    Yeah, but it also happens during a workout – especially running long distances. Often times I feel like my body is a two-year-old throwing tantrums at me…crying and throwing itself on the floor. I have to have this conversation where I ‘remind’ my body that it is doing what I decide, not the other way around. Don’t underestimate how big that mental component is!

  4. coolchicksactivegear says:

    love the “my body is a two-year-old throwing a tantrum at me” visual – ha!

Leave a Reply

