are you looking at me?

So I stumbled through a cardio hip-hop dance class at my gym this morning… which means that I mostly stumbled since I  [a] have next to no rhythm and [b] have minimal coordination.  But I had fun, worked up a good sweat, and laughed a LOT.  Driving home, I was thinking back to my 20s… when I was actually more fit and weighed less than I do now, but would have preferred taking a beating over going to a group exercise class.  I was so self-conscious that everyone would be looking at me and noticing that I didn’t know what I was doing, that I was completely out of step, or that I would be the frumpiest girl in the class.  These days, I really don’t give that stuff a second thought…

Group exercise classes can be some of the most calorie-burning workouts you’ve ever done – even if you’re out of step on every single move (which I totally was this morning).  Not only does the time fly by (most classes are a full hour), but you’re motivated by the instructor or other people in the class.  It also helps me to have a set schedule of workouts so I can’t keep procrastinating until bed-time and then flake out.

I already take a kickboxing class twice a week (because I still have pent-up rage from my former career – ha!) and am trying a couple of other classes here and there… that’s how I found myself in hip-hop heaven this morning.  Even though I was out of step, didn’t do the quick turns because I was afraid I’d trip and fall on my rear, and was – in fact – the frumpiest girl in the class… it was fun.  If I couldn’t figure out the move, I’d just go back to something simple until they moved on to a move that I could get.  The key is to just keep moving, keep laughing, and sweat – sweat – sweat! 

And you know what?  If someone IS looking at you and laughing… just laugh with them!  We don’t laugh enough as it is!

What’s a class that you’ve always wanted to try, but have been too afraid to do?

This entry was posted in does this blog make my butt look big?, yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to are you looking at me?

  1. Lisa says:

    BELLY DANCING! That would take some courage!

Leave a Reply

