I'm cooking…

Since we’ve started making the switch from processed foods to whole, natural, organic foods, we’ve been experimenting with different recipes… it’s not always pretty, but I tried two last week that were notable.

I love eggplant… love it.  Even just looking at it piled up in the produce section at the grocery store, it makes me happy.  Which is why it is a mystery to me why I have never actually brought any home to cook myself.  Last week, while we were at Earth Fare, I couldn’t resist the great deal they had on local organic eggplant.  I got home and searched around online to find a good eggplant recipe, but mostly what popped up was eggplant parmigan recipes.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good eggplant parm, but I wanted to try something different.  A Facebook friend suggested this recipe for Eggplant Bhurtha.  I didn’t follow the recipe correctly, but it was still fantastic… and so pretty!

We’ve also been wanting to experiment with lentils… my husband loves the spicy sausage lentil soup from Carrabba’s, so he searched online until he found that recipe.  We used the crockpot and found that the lentils took forever to cook like that.  I’ve asked around and some people say you’re supposed to soak them and other people say you shouldn’t have to… or maybe it’s the kind of lentils that we bought?  I’m not sure, but I’m guessing it shouldn’t take more than 12 hours to cook them.  Am I right?

Care to share your lentil knowledge or eggplant recipe with me? 

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I'm cooking…

  1. Kendra says:

    I slice eggplant and use it instead of noodles in lasagna. And trader joe’s has some lentils that are already cooked and ready to eat that I like to buy and use a quick meal.

Leave a Reply

