pole report…

Pole: 1, Amanda: 0.

Yep, that’s right… the pole kicked my tush this weekend.  I woke up this morning and my thigh muscles are still killing me.  But we had a blast in the class and would totally do it again!

The Aradia studio is tucked into a strip-mall… and that was a pun I couldn’t resist sharing.  Heheheh, get it?  Strip?  Pole dancing?  Mmmkay… moving right along. 

The actual classroom was dark with purple velvet draping hung on the walls and 8 shiny brass poles scattered around the room.  We started out with some loosening up exercises (like roll your head, roll your shoulders, pivot your hips, etc) and then moved on to floor work… which included moves like “the cricket”, “the sexy up”, and “the sexy bicycle”.  Our instructor was great… she laughed at our bawdy comments and encouraged us to have fun with it.  We were definitely having fun, but everyone was anxious to get to the actual pole workout… yeah, it was that kind of crowd, heh.

When we moved to the pole portion, she showed us several moves, one-by-one, and let us practice each one a few times… then she put them all together for our big routine and talked us through each move as we strutted our stuff.  The first go-through on the routine was rough and I think we all thought we’d never get it right… but by the third and final “performance”, we were all totally hot-mamas and could have been scoring dollar bills left and right!

We didn’t really feel the workout at the time (maybe the beer at Mellow Mushroom following the class helped?), but several of us had bruises on our legs or stubbed toes… that pole can be brutal to the inexperienced. 

All-in-all, it was a lot of fun and I’m looking forward to the next time we get a group together to go… oh, ha!  As I was finishing this post, my friend, Julie, emailed to see if I want to sign up for their regular 4 week pole class.  So maybe I’ll be back there sooner than I thought!

our private class group after the workout... note that Julie has a death-grip on the pole.

What do you think – would YOU do a 4 week aerobic pole dancing class???

This entry was posted in stuff that provides job-security for my therapist., yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow., you CAN teach an old blonde new tricks.. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to pole report…

  1. Jen says:

    i’m so glad you had a good time! it sounds like a blast. i would NOT do a 4 week class b/c NOBODY needs to see my big booty on a pole! LOL!

    do you think you will do the class?!?!

  2. Heather says:

    I so want in on this! Needless to say, there are no such offerings in Mayberry – maybe next time I’m in the area we can go to a class – I can only imagine the hilarity that would ensue –

  3. Kristin says:

    OK, your post really makes me want to try this!

Leave a Reply

