physics lesson…

Newton’s first law of motion:  An object at rest tends to stay at rest, or if it is in motion tends to stay in motion…

Ummm, yeah.  Last week, I was in a funk… which means I didn’t work out and ate garbage all week.  The two weeks prior to that, I was suffering with allergies and did the bare minimum for workouts.  So I’ve been pretty much “at rest” for about three weeks now.  Being the nerd that I am, I would love to see the calculation that shows the exact amount of effort it takes for me to get back in motion given that three weeks of rest.  But in the absence of the formula, I’ll just go ahead and throw out my guestimate… “a LOT!” 

Yep, it took a LOT of effort to get my butt moving again.  I woke up yesterday morning with the plan to go to my morning kick-boxing class… waddled around in my pajamas for a ridiculous amount of time while having this very heated discussion in my head about all the other things I could do OTHER THAN going to kick-boxing.  Seriously, it’s a wonder my hair wasn’t singed.  In the end, I opted to go ahead and set myself back in motion.  I went to my kick-boxing class and made plans to go to 3 more kickboxing classes this week… objects in motion, stay in motion.

As an aside, I would also be interested in the formula that shows the exact impact of that object being set back into motion after 3 weeks of rest… because ow-momma-owwwww!  I am walking like frankenstein this morning and it’s all I can do to lift the OJ jug to pour out some juice.  As my darling husband says (with a big smug smile) “that’s how you know it was a good workout!”.  Baaaaah!

Here’s to staying in motion!

This entry was posted in I gotcher motivation right here.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to physics lesson…

  1. Jen D says:

    good for you!

    i’m SO good about doing my two 1-hour pilates workouts each week, but cardio….yeah, not so good about that. like, not at all. sigh!

Leave a Reply

