guest speaker…

I was recently asked to speak to a large group of girls, grades 1st through 7th.  Topic?  Body image, self esteem, fitness, and goal setting… 

I knowwwww!  Who can speak confidently on these topics besides Jillian Michaels, right?!  When I first read the email from the girl-scout camp director, I was a nervous wreck.  And that’s just reading her email with the speaking request – can you imagine how nervous I’ll be during the actual speech thing???  Wow…

Yeah, so I initially told her I’d have to think about it because aside from having public speaking as my number one fear, I also felt like I’d be a fake to get up there and talk about these topics.  I definitely don’t have any of it figured out… self esteem and body image?  A daily battle for me…   Some days I win the battle and other days… I don’t.  But I’ve realized that probably no one has it figured out.  I mean, it may be a stretch to imagine this, but… I would venture a guess that even Jillian Michaels has days where she feels fat or unattractive (work with me here, people).  So the thing is to not be perfect at it, but to be always striving to be okay with yourself… recognizing your gifts and your shortcomings and being okay with the balance of the two.  On that?  I’m pretty close.

Anyway, so now I’m trying to figure out how to put all these thoughts and ideas into a format that would really speak to girls in this young age-group.  I mean, it’s not like they’ve been through the horrors of high school yet, right?   Nor would they probably understand about feeling old and irrelevant… or trying to redefine yourself as someone you’ve always wanted to be… or any of that stuff that comes with age and long-cultivated self-doubt.

Hmmm… any ideas for me?

and oh-my-gosh… how cute is this Girl Scout Blog?!

This entry was posted in does this blog make my butt look big?, I gotcher motivation right here.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to guest speaker…

  1. Deb says:

    First don’t underestimate the maturity of the girls–it seems the self-image issue is occurring younger and younger in not only girls but boys. As a mom I don’t think you can tell anyone else how to get over the self-image hurdle. It’s been a struggle with Cheyenne and I because I’m an engineer and I want to fix everything and you can’t “fix” that. Even though she and I are alike in a lot of ways she still has an inherent desire to please everyone and let’s just say that’s not even close to what I want to do. >=)
    I think the best option would be to share the journey of how you got to the place you are today. Don’t candy coat the fact that you have days of struggle with your own self image. Share your “project believe” with them and let them know that not only their family and friends want them to be the best that they can be but all their “sisters” across the world want them to be strong and brave and believe in themselves/

  2. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like you have the makings of a great talk. Engage them with questions maybe? Several. Like – Who here feels pretty, or perfect, or fake? All kinds of questions, one at a time and let them answer (show of hands please – hehehehehe) Then use that as a jumping point. Asking the questions helps you guage where the girls are (how they feel) and lets you know where to start.

    AND Use that FANTASTIC humor you have! Using your humor will get them to repeat what you’ve said and the good stuff can’t help but sink in!

Leave a Reply

