do I look fat on this scale?

I went back to Weight Watchers recently because despite my workouts, I haven’t lost any weight (and no, my clothes are not fitting especially looser either).  I get there, fill out all my paperwork, wait in line… and then step on the scale.  When I later saw the number printed out on my little booklet, I was floored!  How had my weight crept up without me realizing it?

I got home and immediatly emailed my husband with “Hey, I went back to WW today.  Why didn’t you tell me that I’m fat?!”.  Poor guy, I’m not an easy girl to be married to.  hahaha. 

Yeah, so while I don’t want to be defined by the numbers on my scale, I also don’t want to get lazy about letting my weight slip into a more and more unhealthy range… or into a range that prevents me from continuing to be active.

So my first day on WW, I went out for Mexican food and margaritas for dinner.  Several margaritas and baskets of chips later, I realized what I had done.  Yikes!  Way to kick things off with a bang, right?  The next day, I thought a lot about what it would take for me to shake things up and get more focused on my health and weight loss… enter my flashback to Friday’s talk from the Biggest Loser folks and how they had exercise and eating right as their main focus while on the ranch. 

I’m currently working from home and have quite a bit of flexibility in my schedule.  In fact, so much flexibility that I find myself killing time on Facebook while watching garbage TV (Millionaire Matchmaker?  I’m so there!).  I started thinking about how much time I waste on that kind of stuff and then decided that I could realistically fit in 4 hours of exercise per day.  Crazy you say?  Nah, not really… I’m actually stronger than I look and I’ll space the workouts out throughout the day.

So last night I sat up in bed with my O2 Fitness group class schedules and the adult-swim lane times for the community pool, and worked out my plan.  I’m actually really excited about it!  I’ll have Sundays as a rest day so my body can recover (and so I can sleeeeep), but otherwise – it’s ON, sistahs!  Oh, and I’ll be following the WW core eating plan along the way as well… with Saturdays as my free day for indulging (within reason).

My  WW weigh-in day is Friday morning.  I can’t wait to see how the additional workouts and food-journaling does on the scale!  I’ll post my week’s workout log and weight-loss on Fridays.

…wish me luck!

This entry was posted in does this blog make my butt look big?. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to do I look fat on this scale?

  1. Melissa says:

    You inspire me! Where are you going to you going to WW at? What time? I have been thinking about going back!

    • coolchicksactivegear says:

      Thanks! I’m trying to inspire myself too… so far, so good. 1 hour of yoga, 1 hour of kickboxing, and I’m getting ready to do a workout DVD at home.

      I’m going to the Friday 9am meeting on Falls,,. come with me!

  2. Jen D says:

    you’re awesome. and inspiring. and you rock.

    and i love you. 🙂

  3. Canadian Heather says:

    Seriously, I had almost the exact same experience the other day. Did a cardio screening clinic at the office and found that I have gained 50 pounds (that’s right, five-zero) in two years, the majority of it in the last 8 months. BRUTAL!

    After a day of feeling quite terrible about myself, I devised my plan, and am sticking to it. I’m three days in now, clean eating, hour long walks with the dog and gym sessions 5 days a week, and I feel great! Even went running today, although there was a lot of walking included in it. Whatever, I was a sweaty mess after so I must’ve been doing something right! I even resisted the BBQ chicken pizza the boy brought home last night…

    Keep at it girlie!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Good Luck!! You are a constant source of inspiration to me! I know I say this all the time – but I really mean it – YOU ROCK!!!!

  5. coolchicksactivegear says:

    well, ladies… it seems as though we are ALL rocking the casbah! I know that Jen D has been getting up at 5am to go to Jazzercise this week… Heather turned down BBQ chicken pizza and is cranking out some exercise… and Jennifer is knocking out the mileage to train for the Avon walk.

    Yayyyy for all us COOL CHICKS!

  6. Jen D says:

    yippee! it sure does help having other cool chicks working hard at things/decisions/etc that are NOT easy! yay us!!!

Leave a Reply

