a vitamin a day…

About 10 years ago, I did a 3-day juice fast because I was so sluggish and felt exhausted most of the time… I was desperate!  In preparation for the fast, I read a lot of stuff about vitamin absorption and found some very interesting ideas. 

I won’t get too graphic about the difference between solids and liquids in the digestive process, but the basic idea was that the vitamins have to remain in your body long enough to be absorbed… so having only fresh juices (beet, apple, carrot, spinach, etc) for three days really infused my body with vitamins and I immediately felt the benefits.  It also made me cranky as hell for some solid food.

I don’t own a juicer any more, but the idea has always stuck with me and I have been using liquid vitamins for several years now.  Well, I’ve been using liquid vitamins when I remember to take them… which is pretty hit-or-miss.

When I do take them regularly, I can always tell a tremendous difference in about a week.  This is another habit I just need to get into, much like exercising, drinking water, and eating healthier. 

According to my oldest brother, it takes 21 days to form a habit.  So I’m making a point of slurping my vitamins for the next few weeks.  I’m looking forward to when it becomes as automatic as going for my first cup of coffee each morning.

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

