confidence…

is in the eye of the beholder.

I was telling a new acquaintance recently the story about Cool Chicks and my passion for building confidence and positive body-image for all you great girlies out there. She was totally surprised when I mentioned that I am constantly struggling with self-esteem issues. I’ve had this reaction before… I guess I come across more confident than I really am (thank goodness!). 

I was trying to figure out why that is… how am I fooling these folks? 

I worry that people won’t like me, or that I’m not as smart as I should be, or any number of annoying thoughts that nag me throughout the day.  But… luckily, I’ve gotten into the habit of talking to myself.  I look back on my history… things that I’ve overcome, goals that I’ve achieved, etc. and I tell myself that I didn’t really feel confident about any one of those, but yet – I was able to do them.  That is pretty empowering!

I don’t know that anyone is 100% confident, but I think it’s pretty good to get to the point where you can talk yourself into at least acting confident.

Have you ever sat down and made a list of your accomplishments, qualities, or values?  Try it!

This entry was posted in does this blog make my butt look big?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to confidence…

  1. Heather says:

    I’m a firm believer in fake it till you make it –

  2. coolchicksactivegear says:

    exactly!!!

Leave a Reply

