early bird gets the…

last available elliptical machine!  Yes!

I’m back in Wisconsin this week and determined to fit my workouts in (especially with the cooler weather we’re having here).  I don’t really sleep well in hotels and actually didn’t even settle down to sleep until around 1am, slept for a few hours, and then was wide-awake again by 5am.  Seriously?  I tossed and turned for a while, trying to get back to sleep and finally decided it was a losing battle.

I got up, pulled on some workout clothes, and went downstairs to the fitness center in the hotel (which is actually THE fitness center in the town).  Barely swiping the sleep junk out of my eyes, I figured I’d have the whole place to myself.  Ummm yeah, not so at all.  I originally planned to run on the treadmill, but they were all taken (6 of them!), so I meandered around until I settled on the one remaining available elliptical.  I popped my ear buds in and cranked my iPod and started my workout.  About 5 minutes in, I looked around the room and realized that I must be working out with the entire senior population of Waupaca, WI… which just cracked me up.

Anyway, I’m thrilled to say that I did a butt-workout on the elliptical for 35 minutes and then did some speed drills outside for about 15 minutes… yay!  Great start to the week, eh?  Oh, the bummer part is that I forgot that I had set my alarm for 6:15 and it was going off for who knows how long before I got back to my room to turn it off.  Ooops!

Hollah!  How was your weekend?

This entry was posted in yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to early bird gets the…

  1. Jen D says:

    ygg! that’s awesome!!!

    my weekend was good. i strained my hamstrings on friday, so i took it easy on the exercise this weekend (i only did pilates on sunday…no cardio). oh! and i went bowling on friday night…SOO much fun!

Leave a Reply

