boom boom POW!

When I run by myself (usually on the treadmill), I crank up my iPod and pound out miles to the beats I have loaded on there.  It took me a long time to compile a suitable music list to carry me for longer runs without repeating the same songs over and over again. 

For your perusing pleasure, these are some of my favorite running songs:

  • No One (Alicia Keys)
  • Milkshake (Kelis)
  • Circus (Britney Spears)
  • Bleeding Love (Leona Lewis)
  • Better in Time (Leona Lewis)
  • Bust it Baby (Plies)
  • Love in This Club (Usher)
  • Fergalicious (Fergie)
  • Glamorous (Fergie)
  • Imma Be (Black Eyed Peas)
  • Pump it (Black Eyed Peas)
  • Where is the Love (Black Eyed Peas)
  • Shut up and Drive (Rihana)
  • Don’t stop the music (Rihana)
  • Push up on me (Rihana)
  • Push it (dance re-mix beat)
  • Hollaback Girl (Gwen Stefani)
  • SexyBack (Justin Timberlake)
  • Just Dance (Lady Gaga)
  • So What (Pink)
  • Funhouse (Pink)
  • Hips Don’t Lie (Shakira)
  • Don’t Cha (Pussy Cat Dolls)

I actually listened to my iPod throughout the entire Nike Women’s half marathon in San Francisco this October.  That was the first time I had ever raced with my iPod and I have to say – while it did keep me focused – I also missed out on a lot of the fun of the crowd that I usually enjoy.  I guess it’s a trade-off for getting me up those wicked hills.

Oh – and I was listening to “SexyBack” as I came up to the finish… GREAT song to finish out a 13.1 mile run!

What are some of your favorite workout tunes?

This entry was posted in yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to boom boom POW!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Have to say it, my favorite is Need You Tonight (INXS)
    I find 80’s music to be really good for workouts. Could be the lyrical genius of the decade, not really sure 😉 but it’s lots of fun!!

  2. Heather says:

    For running: the theme song from Rocky – but I have to say for working out in general, I love to just put it on shuffle – I have lots of different genres of music on there, and you get some crazy and great combinations –

Leave a Reply

