have quinoa salad, will travel…

Guess what I made and brought to New York with me this week… go on, guess…

Have you heard of quinoa (pronounced Keen-wah) before?  It tastes like a cross between rice and pasta (rice pasta for you gluten-free folks) and takes on the flavor of whatever you put with it… kind of like a not-disgusting version of tofu?  It’s somewhat hard to find in regular grocery stores – usually found on the rice/grain aisle in a box and unless you’re in a dream super-market, you will probably only find one option of it per store.  But it’s worth the hunt… according to articles I’ve read, it’s high in protein, calcium, and iron… is a relatively good source of vitamin E and several of the B vitamins.  It also contains an almost perfect balance of all eight essential amino acids needed for tissue development in humans.  As I am edging closer to the 40 years old mark, I need all the “tissue development” I can get. 

Anyway – not only is quinoa considered a super-food, but it also travels well… I can make a “salad”, dump it into a large ziploc, and tuck it into my luggage… no refrigeration required.  It’s filling, gentle on my stomach, and there are about a gazillion recipes out there that use this little power-packed seed/grain/whatever it is.

This is the quick-recipe that I currently use:

  • 1 cup organic quinoa (cook as instructed on packaging)
  • half cup of Trader Joe’s Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar
  • half cup of craisins
  • quarter cup of sliced almonds

I do this one because it’s quick and easy, but just found a bunch of new recipes this weekend that I want to try.  I’m pretty sure they’ll also travel well.  This Black Bean and Tomato one sounds delish!!!

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too., on the road again.. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to have quinoa salad, will travel…

  1. Lori says:

    So glad you posted this! Once we move close to a Trader Joe’s, I’ll be able to make it. Sounds yummy!

  2. coolchicksactivegear says:

    I must have mis-measured on the vinegar because it’s over-powering this batch… shoot! I’ll get some of that stuff and ship it to you this weekend. 🙂

  3. Kristin says:

    I’ve wanted that vinegar for months and never knew what to do with it. So, I bought it yesterday and WILL try this. Sounds delish.

    • coolchicksactivegear says:

      hope you enjoy it, Kristin! like I mentioned, I might have over-shot on how much of that vinegar to use, so try a little bit and keep adding to taste…

      • Kristin says:

        Made tonight finally! YUM. I would never have made that combo on my own. I love vinegar so it was the perfect amount for me.

  4. Pingback: quinoa salad «

Leave a Reply

