get your skates on…

It hit me this weekend that we’re moving.  I mean, I’ve known it for a while and I’m excited about it, but it’s also stressful and a little bit sad to be leaving the city we’ve called home for the last five years… our house, friends, all the things that are familiar to us now.  We spent the weekend going through paperwork, selling stuff we aren’t taking with us, making lists of services we need to start in the new place and stop in our current place, etc.  We even received mail for the new owners on Friday (that was quick!).  I guess that’s when it really sunk in that we’re moving.

I was sitting out on our upper-deck Saturday night, feeling stressed and pouting about giving up my pretty home to strangers… when Erik poked his head out and said “hey – get your skates on… it’s roller derby time!”  Even through my pouting, I couldn’t help but laugh.  He bought a Wii roller derby game for me a couple of weeks ago and I hadn’t had a chance to try it out.  I agreed to come inside, put my stress aside, and play for a while…

It took a while to get the hang of the game, but I love it!  If it wasn’t for my hand cramping because you have to hit so many buttons all at once, I could play that game for hours!  We played multi-player bouts and I found that – unfortunately – my 6’4″ baratone voiced husband is a better roller girl than I am…  He beat me every single time!  To be fair, his hands are much larger than mine so he can work the controls better than I can.  And… okay, yeah, so he also has better hand-eye coordination than I do… whatever!

After a few games, I felt better… laughing and spirits lifted.  I had a wave of sadness this morning as I watched him drive our puppy, some bare necessities, and his motorcycle off to our new place in Georgia before I left for the airport… but as I was walking back into the house, I thought to myself “get your skates on and get ready for this big adventure, girl!” 

Guess I better find those hot-pants and fishnet stockings soon!

This entry was posted in yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to get your skates on…

  1. Heather says:

    North Carolina is going to miss you like crazy cakes, but you are going to have a great new adventure! I, for one, can’t wait to visit the new digs –

Leave a Reply

