just "tri" and stop me…

So… I woke up this morning – after only about 3 hours of sleep – and was determined to get back on the healthy-girl bandwagon.  I’ve been so under-the-weather lately and had a million excuses to keep me from getting back into a healthy routine.  Unfortunately, it’s really showing in my energy levels, waist-band, and moods… so I finally decided to do something about it.

Erik has been nagging me about skipping breakfast…  I know I need to make sure I’m having a decent breakfast that includes some protein to keep me from crashing within an hour.  I’ve just been so lazy and time slips away from me, so it’s noon before I even think about food and then I’m starving and want garbage.  Not a healthy plan for sure, right?  So this morning, I had vanilla Greek yogurt (lower in fat and higher in protein) with sliced strawberries and a glass of orange juice with my liquid vitamins mixed in.  Um, yum!

I sat in bed to enjoy my healthy breakfast, watch my husband get ready for work, and plan my workout strategy for the day.  I don’t know why this popped into my head since I have NEVER had the desire to participate in a Triathlon, but I realized that I could do a mini-Tri workout as my workout today.  Crazy, right?  Again… NEVER considered training for a Tri before and suddenly, I’m excited about doing a Tri simulation workout?  It must have been the lack of sleep.

I started telling my husband about it and getting more and more excited about it… I realized I could go to the 55 minute Spin class at the Y, do the mile loop around the gym a few times, and then end with some lap-swimming (and sunning) in the outdoor pool.  I got dressed in my workout gear, packed my swimsuit and towel, and headed out the door before I could come to my senses.

Okay, I am not a fan of bike riding.  I own a bike only because my husband loves to ride and I occasionally feel the need to perform my wifely duties and ride along with him.  So attending a Spin class had never really been high on my “yeah, that sounds cool” list of things to do.  But I was determined… which is good, since it took every ounce of my determination not to slide off that bike and curl into a cozy ball on the floor after about 15 minutes of insane sweating and having my butt permanently bruised by the bike seat!  It was not a stellar performance, but I managed to stick it out for the entire class and even got a genuine “good job” from the instructor.

My legs felt like rubber and my face was fire-engine red, so I walked slowly around the fitness center to let my heartbeat return to normal before I headed outside to do my mileage.  Now, I’d love to say that I ran those loops, but I didn’t… I honestly think I would have dropped to the ground after about five strides if I had tried to run right then.  So I walked a few miles on the paved and reasonably flat (and mostly palm-tree shaded) trail.  My sweat is apparently an intoxicating aroma to mosquitos because I was swatting those suckers away the whole time…  Next time?  I think I’ll try dosing myself in lavender oil to keep the bugs at bay!

On my final loop, I grabbed my bag and headed inside to shower and  change into my swimsuit.  Our Y has two outdoor pools… one for the kids and one that is divided into lap lanes.  Today, they only had 3 lanes open and they were all occupied, so I had to wait… which gave me a chance to get in, float around, and cool off.  I watched the kiddos play and the lifeguards rotate for a while before I finally got a chance to snag a lane.  My favorite stroke is the breast-stroke (that’s what she said – ha!), so that’s what I broke into as soon as I settled into my lane.  It’s different swimming laps in an outdoor pool vs. an indoor pool – you have to squint the sun out of your eyes and you don’t get the cool echoes of your own breathing when you’re outside.  Okay, and can I just tell you how tired my arms were after only about 5 laps?  Yeah, that’s going to hurt in the morning.  Oh, I don’t have a pic from the pool to post because there were too many kids around and I didn’t want to freak any parents out by accidentally snapping a photo of their kiddo streaking across in front of me. 

When I got out of the pool, I laid out on a lounge chair for a while with my eyes closed and a big smile on my face.  I did it… I did my Tri simulation workout.  Given that I have not done much in the way of pushing my body to be strong in several months, this was a really big deal… I felt so proud and excited that I seriously considered a trip to the party-supply store to purchase a “finisher’s medal” for myself to comemorate it.  I mean – how fun would THIS have been??? 

What did you “tri” today?

This entry was posted in yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow., you CAN teach an old blonde new tricks.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

