I feel fruity…

It is most definitely summer-time here in Georgia.  In addition to the extra beach traffic and the scorching temperatures, I have been mesmerized by the summer produce displays surrounding me everywhere I go!  (Well, okay, not in the shoe department at Macy’s, but everywhere else?  Yes!)  I’ve been working back towards a whole-foods diet that would edge out processed foods, so this last week – I loaded up on a ton of produce.  How gorgeous is this stuff?  It just makes me giddy to see all those bright colors of summer in one place!

 
I roast the little potatoes in the oven with a bit of olive oil and garlic, eat the baby carrots with fresh garlic hummus, slice and marinate the vine-ripened tomatoes and cucumber in a balsamic vinaigrette, make a tasty spinach salad with strawberries and feta cheese, grill the squash and the asparagus to use as a side dish or in quick salads, have chunks of juicy mango for a nice soothing dessert, and snack on the apples and cantaloup throughout the day.
 
Unfortunately, I’m the only one in this household who eats fresh fruits and veggies so I *may* have gotten a little carried away given that I will be gone to Dallas for work next week and can not take any of this yummy stuff with me.  I hate throwing produce away, but often find that I’ve over-bought and watch as the gorgeous colors turn icky until I finally toss them into the garbage.  But this week, I’m prepared to freeze some of this stuff! 
 
Have you ever had frozen grapes and cantaloup?  If you see that they’re starting to get soft, you can toss them into a baggie for the freezer and then pull them out for snacks on particularly hot days (it’s almost like eating sorbet!).  I also freeze bannanas for use in protein smoothies… it’s better than using a bunch of ice cubes and adds some extra vitamins and yumminess to an otherwise plain vanilla smoothie.  Oh – and strawberries?  Same thing – freeze for smoothies or to thaw and add onto piping hot whole grain pancakes some lazy weekend morning.
 
 
I’ve washed and sliced everything (except the mangoes – which are best when they’re freshly cut for eating immediately), so everything is ready to slip into the freezer if need be this Sunday before I leave for my flight.  It was so much fun to get everything ready and daydream about eating each tasty piece… look at these cherries – aren’t they beautiful?

maybe life *is* a bowl of cherries... 🙂

What’s your favorite summer produce?

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

