visualize… a chance to shop for new stuff!

Never underestimate the power of visualization… I know, it totally sounds flaky, but it works!  I’ve used visualization for years… in all areas of my life.  But most recently, as I struggle to get into a good training routine for the Savannah Rock and Roll Half Marathon, I’ve had to dig into my bag of tricks to get motivated.

I picture myself as an effortless runner (even if I’m huffing and puffing or hating my workout) and it seems to help me get through.  Often times it’s like flipping a switch to make me go from feeling miserable – to feeling good, happy, and strong.  I’ve also noticed that when I’m suited up in my favorite running stuff – the stuff that makes me look more like a runner – I actually perform better!  That?  Is awesome!  And that?  Is also a reason to go shopping… and what girl doesn’t love shopping?

We hit Fleet Feet last Saturday ( which was freaking packed, btw) and I got these new kicks:

This is my first pair of Brooks.  I usually go with Asics or Saucony, but these were recommended by the sales guy and when I put them on, it was like walking on a pillow (I’d say cloud, but that just sounds too corny).  You can’t really tell from the picture, but they have lots of reflective pieces on them and they’re accented with a peppy purple trim.

I also got a festive new Sweaty Band specifically for race day (the colors are black, hot pink, and teal):

I have hot pink running tops of all varieties, so depending on the weather that day – I could wear my tank, short sleeve, or long sleeve top to match my headband.  And all of my running shorts are black, so wa-lah… I will be “running pretty” for the Half on November 5th!

Have you bought any new fitness stuff lately?

This entry was posted in somebody's been shopping., yikes, this is going to hurt tomorrow.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

