dirty banana "ice cream"…

So… the phrase “dirty banana” was born on a project that I did recently in New York.  I don’t even remember who came up with it, but we were talking about bananas and I mentioned that I don’t like green bananas.  They have to have some brown in the peel (meaning they’re over-ripe) before I’m going to eat them.  So these ladies were teasing me about it and one offered to bring me all of her over-ripe bananas (yay!) and somehow (probably because we were slap-happy), the phrase “dirty bananas” was used.  We were laughing so hard and got so tickled that I can’t look at a ripe banana today without giggling.

So anyway… Remember how I was going to freeze my extra bananas from this week for smoothies?  Even better… I found a recipe for “Dirty Banana Ice Cream”!  Okay, I made that up… it was originally called “Fruit Smoothie Ice Cream”, but really?  My version sounds so much better!  And because I am a giver and I’m pretty sure we all struggle with what to do with dirty bananas (I’m snort-laughing), I’m even going to share the recipe with you!

Ingredients:

  • 2 over-ripe (or dirty) bananas
  • 1 Tbsp applesauce (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Mash the peeled bananas thoroughly in a bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and blend well.  Cover and place in freezer for several hours.

Don’t let the smooth pretty ice cream in the photo fool you… it actually resembles baby poo.  Or maybe I used too much vanilla?  Anyway, it doesn’t replace Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla, but it is pretty tasty!

If you try the recipe, let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

