ch-ch-ch-chuy's!

We have a lot of wonderful things here in the South, but good Mexican food is not one of them…  When we moved to North Carolina, we struggled for months to finally find some decent Mexican food – that still doesn’t compare to TX or OK fare.  So I was especially excited to land in Dallas for my work week yesterday and make a bee-line for my favorite Mexican restaurant, Chuy’s.

Okay, seriously?  Who wouldn’t be in love with this place?  Look at all the sauce options you get – and that’s not even ALL of them… my favorite is the Boom Boom sauce, made with cheese, roasted New Mexico green chiles, tomatillos, green onions, cilantro, and lime juice.  Oh yeah… it’s boom-boom goooood.

If I was stranded on a deserted island and could only have a single food item emergency-dropped in, it would most definitely be their chips, salsa, and creamy jalapeno dip.   Um, yesssss, it would.

And despite what the smarty-pants teenaged waiter said one time when I ordered a “Dot” (frozen lime margarita with a splash of strawberry daiquiri on top), these babies are heaven with a side of salt!

We do have Mexican restaurants in Savannah, but I’m horrified to say that their idea of a chile relleno is a stuffed green bell pepper. Yeah, I’ll give you a moment to “digest” that sad tidbit.  So I’m sure you’ve already guessed what I ordered.  One chicken/cheese and one shrimp/cheese with deluxe tomatillo sauce… mmmmm!

I was so horribly stuffed by the time the check came, I rolled myself over to my hotel, changed into my swimsuit and promptly fell asleep… after teasing the guy at the hotel grill to wake me when dinner was ready.  Haha… even funnier, is that he did bring a big plate of food to me and invited me to join his whole family.  I was so full, I couldn’t possibly eat anything else, so I took the food up to my room and let my coworker have it when she came over to hang out for the evening… she said it was so good that I was off the hook for going to Chuy’s without her – yay!

Guess I’m going to have to come up with some good Mexican food recipes to make at home since we’re not going to get it out and about in Savannah…

Got any recipes for me??

This entry was posted in food... it's what's for dinner. um, and most other meals too.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

