hair removal is one of my love-languages…

Have you guys read the book, The 5 Love Languages?  If you haven’t, you really should… it’s a great way to understand how you, personally, demonstrate and interpret acts of love.  Also, it would make this blog post a lot more funny… and that’s far more important to me than you being more self-aware.  Ha!

Anyway, I must be part billy-goat because several years ago, I started sprouting three random hairs on my neck and chin (shut up – just wait until
you get old).  I try to stay on top of those suckers, but sometimes I can’t see them.  So one day, while standing side-by-side at the bathroom sink with my husband, I noticed a stray that had gone unnoticed and was wild and unruly.  I turned to him and calmly explained that it was his duty as my husband to inform me when I am rocking a near-beard (yes, I’m exaggerating).  He gave me a blank stare and went back to doing whatever it was he was doing before while I rambled on about commitment  really being about keeping each other reasonably groomed.

Likewise, left to his own devices, Erik would be rocking some wild Andy Rooney eyebrows… but I – out of love and commitment – help him keep those under control as well as the few hairs that sprout up the back of his neck.  More often than not, he fidgets and fusses like a cranky toddler while I’m performing these acts of love and I have to constantly remind him that I trim and tweeze because I care.  Seriously, what says love more than “I will not let your eyebrows grow until they are nesting birds”?  Exactly!

So I think it’s pretty clear here… hair removal IS one of my love languages.  And possibly toilet-paper roll replacement as well… yeah, that’s definitely on the list.

What’s one of your zany “love languages”???

P.S.  While we were on vacation last week, Erik forgot his shaving cream and decided to let his beard grow out just for kicks.  In an act of solidarity, I stopped shaving for the week too…  Oh hush, I’ve had laser hair removal treatments, so it’s not all Gloria Steinem or anything.  Annnnnyway, I’m actually not a fan of facial hair (on men OR women), but I have to say that at the conclusion of our vacation, my husband gave sexy George Clooney a pretty good run for his money.  Reoooowr!

P.P.S.  Just so you know, my husband and I have been married for nearly 10 years.

P.P.P.S.  I am terribly lucky that he has not smothered me in my sleep by now.

This entry was posted in stuff that provides job-security for my therapist.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to hair removal is one of my love-languages…

  1. Lori says:

    LOVE IT!!!!

  2. Bahahaha! I love this post. And I’m suddenly tempted to read the book now. 😉

    • distance chick says:

      haha! glad it gave you a chuckle… the book really is a good read, but you won’t find anything as silly as hair removal or toilet paper roll replacement listed in there. 😉

Leave a Reply

